Vote Information


TUESDAY, MAY 18, 2021        -        POLLS OPEN: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

FIND YOUR POLLING SITE (Upper Nyack, Upper Grandview, and Grandview are all listed under NYACK)


  1. Depew Manor
  2. Hilltop Administration Building
  3. Valley Cottage Elementary School
  4. Upper Nyack Elementary School

VOTER REGISTRATION:   To qualify as a voter, you must be:

  • A citizen of the United States
  • At least 18 years old
  • A resident of the school district for at least 30 days prior to the day of the vote

In order to vote in the school budget vote and board elections, voters must be registered with the Rockland County Board of Elections or Nyack School District.  You are registered if you have voted at least once in a general or school election at your present address in the past 4 years.  Am I registered?

TO REGISTER: Due to COVID-19, it is suggested that residents register to vote online at the DMV Voter Registration Site. Visit

ABSENTEE BALLOTS:  A registered voter who will be unable to vote in person on the day of the election must first complete an APPLICATION ABSENTEE BALLOT which can be downloaded here or obtained from the District Clerk by mail or in person at the Nyack Schools Administration Building, 13A Dickinson Avenue, Nyack. Upon receipt and review of the application, a ballot will be issued. Ballots must be returned to the District Clerk no later than 5:00 PM on the day of the vote.

BOARD CANDIDATES:  There are two open seats for the Board of Education; the seats currently held by Damon Bender and Karen Hughes.  The term begins July 1, 2021 and runs through June 30, 2024. Elections will be held on Tuesday, May 18, 2021 together with the Annual School Budget Vote. Any person 18 years or older; a resident of the District for at least a year; a U.S. citizen; and a registered voter may run for a position on the School Board.
There are three candidates running for the two open seats:

  • Karen Hughes
  • John Duval
  • Damon Bender

For further information on the School Vote , please contact the District Clerk at (845) 353-7012 or

Mirna Franco, District Clerk
Phone: (845) 353-7012